Team Players

Draw for miniEURO 2012

« Back to list
18 September 2012

The draw for the first ever miniEURO took place on Friday 14th of September and some thrilling matches in store are promised in store!

Host nation Moldova will take on Slovakia, Germany and Slovenia in Group A for a place in the quarter finals, while Group B sees Romania, Cyprus, Israel and Croatia battle it out. England is in the third group along with the Czech Republic, Italy and Montenegro with the 16 teams completed by a Group D of Greece, Bulgaria, Turkey and Kazakhstan.

The miniEURO begins on Friday; with the first game at 8am as Germany will take on Slovenia. The three day event has been highly anticipated amongst the participating countries, with the squads all due to travel to Chisinau this week.

The tournament is organized by the European Minifootball Federation and their President Razvan Burleanu refused to be drawn on picking a favorite, saying: “There are some very strong teams in the competition, and we are very much looking forward to a feast of minifootball. It promises to be a thrilling tournament. And one that everyone connected with it has worked very hard to make happen.”

The group stages and quarter finals take place on Friday and Saturday, with Sunday reserved for the showpiece semi-finals and final. The final is due to kick off at 6pm CET.