Team Players

England Squad For MiniEURO 2013

« Back to list
11 September 2013

The UK Minifootball Association is delighted to this morning announce the squad for the miniEURO Championships, which takes place next month.

The final trials took place this weekend at Sutton Coldfield Town FC and here are the players that made the final selection:

Adam Smith
Ryan Wharton
Craig Carby (captain)
George Isaac
Mohammed Hashi
Ben Long
Scott Cousins
JP Collier
Paulo Vernazza
Dean Withers
Harry Healey
Kurt Herbert

The England team was not at its best in its first ever miniEURO campaign last year, but are hoping for better things this time around as Team Director Pete Mitchell explained: “Only a couple of the players that were in Moldova are in the squad last time, but they will be better for the experience.

“Many of the players appeared in the Bulgaria friendly in February and there are a couple of very exciting additions. Adam Smith has shown in the trials that he is a first class goalkeeper, while Paulo Vernazza brings real experience. Midlands based youngster Dean Withers completes the 12 after his fine showings in the trials games. He was highly recommended by our scouts and has proved his worth.

We now look forward to getting out to Crete and showing what we can do.”

England begin their campaign with a game against Spain at 9am on 11th October.