Golden night for Aramis SE-Mad Dogs

« Back to list
25 September 2016

Tonight Hungarian Aramis Se-Mad Dogs were crowned minifootball King of Europe after they beat Juventus Sibiu 3:2 on penalties – after a 1:1 draw – in Maribor, in the final of the first EMF Champions League.

Before the final, in the ‘small final’ for the third place two Romanian teams, MAV Continental and FC Boromir, met on the field. Both teams tried to take control of the game in the first half of the opening half, but couldn’t break the other team’s defence.

The teams left for the break at the end of a goalless first 20 minutes. MAV Continental finally lit up the otherwise uneventful match with a stunning score in the 25th minute.

With only five minutes left of the ‘small final’, FC Boromir put serious pressure on their opponent trying to find an equaliser. But at the end MAV Continental secured the third place with Răzvan-Alexandru Plopeanu’s last-minute goal, settling the 2:0 final result.

In the last game of the EMF Champions League, Aramis SE-Mad Dogs and Juventus Sibiu met in the long-awaited final. Both of the teams started the tournament in Group K, and had already played a match Saturday morning, which ended with Juventus’s victory.

Juventus quickly showed just how serious they were about going home with gold, when the Romanian team opened the scoring in the 4th minute, with Adrian Cozma’s goal. In the remaining minutes of the first half Hungary’s Aramis SE-Mad Dogs gave everything they had to find a leveller. But the score remained 1:0 until the break.

Aramis continued to pressure Juventus Sibiu in the second half, but struggled to turn possession into dangerous shooting opportunities and goals. When only ten minutes left of the final, the score was still sitting at 1:0.

30 seconds before the end of regular time Dániel Kiprich’s goal gave new chance for Hungary to take the Champions League trophy home. The match went into a penalty shootout. At the end Aramis SE-Mad Dogs defeated Juventus Sibiu in an intense 3:2 penalty shootout and became the first ever EMF Champions.